To edit a user’s basic information:
- From the dashboard, click the gear wheel icon to the left of an employee’s name.
- Navigate to the Profile tab.
Basic information for the user (First Name, Last Name, Job Title, and Email) can be edited in the first section of this page.
In particular, Job Title can be used when closing payroll to filter out specific users based on their position (along with Location, Division, and Department, all located in the Details Section of the Options tab).
To reset the user’s password to a temporary one that can be given to the employee:
- Check the box next to Reset and display the password when I click ‘Save’.
- Click the Save button.
The user’s password is now reset to a temporary password, which is displayed in a green banner across the screen. If the user has a valid email address in the system, the user will receive an email with their new temporary password. An email will also be sent to the administrator or their direct supervisor. If the user does not have an email address in the system, an email will not be sent and the password will need to be manually provided to the user.
Other important user account controls can be edited from this page:
- The user’s Classification designation (Employee, Contractor, Volunteer, Student, or Other).
- The user’s Type (Hourly or Salary). Note: Employees designated Hourly will, by default, record regular time that can be used in payroll calculations for overtime. If you have salaried employees that accrue overtime, you should categorize them as Hourly. The “By Hours Worked” accrual method only applies to employees categorized as Hourly.
- The user’s Timezone setting.
- The user’s Access Level (Employee, Supervisor, or Account Administrator).
- For employees and supervisors, the user’s immediate superior in the hierarchy can be set in the Reports To drop-down menu.